The Food of Osaka

Sushi is probably the most famous type of food in Japan –  Everyone knows sushi. Either it’s rolled, slapped on top of rice, or shaped into a square and shoved into a… a…… box. But there is a couple of other dishes that are unique to Osaka, dishes the average visitor to these parts, knows nothing about. I’m speaking of the famous Osaka Okonomiyaki. Some called it Japanese pizza or pancake – I call it…..okonomiyaki. A mixture of flour, egg, cabbage and bacon, okonomiyaki is a favorite dish with many Osaka people.

The mix is mixed and placed on a hot plate, where it slowly cooks. Flipping the okonomiyaki over to cook the opposite side, is a skill not many foreigners have. Japanese however, are able flick with ease. A special sauce with mayonnaise, dried fish and dried seaweed powder, completes the meal. Okonomiyaki is eaten with either chopsticks or an instrument called a “kotei”

okonomiyaki, ready to be eaten.

The other famous dish, in this neck of the woods, is Osaka’s Takoyaki. This dish consists of pieces of octopus cooked in a batter with ginger and other ingredients added to enhance the flavor.  Now, contrary to English the translation that Takoyaki are octopus balls, I have learned that octopi do not, in fact, possess any balls. Therefore I refer to Takoyaki, in English, as octopus dumplings. Far better, don’t you think?

A typical Takoyaki store in downtown Osaka.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty Chatterjee
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 18:00:23

    I’ll have to pass this information on to my daughter; the whole family is wild about Sushi – so they’ll probably enjoy these dishes too.

    Reply

  2. Indri
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 17:41:27

    Hi Ian

    I just read your last posting in Blogit. I’m sorry to see you leave, but it’s good to see you here.

    I love okonomiyaki. It was my favourite weekend treat when I lived in Melbourne, but I haven’t found a nice one here in Indonesia. The one you put in here looks very delicious..😉

    I also have a blog (other than Blogit), http://orcalionjournal.blogspot.com .. please feel free to come and visit me..🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

